Wish You Were Here: Standing In Solidarity

We’re just two lost souls living in a fishbowl,
year after year.
Running over the same old ground,
have we found, the same old fears?
Wish you were here.
                      -David Gilmour/Roger Waters, 1975

I was thrilled to learn that the Christian singer Audrey Assad recently covered one of my favorite all-time songs, Pink Floyd’s “Wish You Were Here”. Not everyone knows that this song is a tribute to the band’s founder and key inspiration, Syd Barrett, who experienced a psychotic break during the late 1960s ultimately rendering him unable to function as a musician and bandleader. Barrett was eventually diagnosed with schizophrenia, and his legacy and influence are still felt through Pink Floyd’s and others’ music to this day.

During my formative years, one of my best friends experienced a similar onset of schizophrenia. While we as his friends had no idea what was going on, I remember a distinct sense of disconnection and fear shared by everyone involved. Now whenever I hear this song or get a chance to perform it, with mixed emotions I think back to those days and consider again how difficult it is for anyone going through such an alienating illness as schizophrenia to stay connected to reality–much less with family, friends, and community.

This is why I am happy to share with you a local resource who have made it their mission to help those facing severe mental illness stay connected in community.  Linden Lodge is the premier provider of residential mental health services in the Sandhills region, and is one of the main reasons we were inspired to start Bridge of the Sandhills. The residents and staff demonstrate true community and authentic family as they do life together. Having been involved with Linden Lodge since its inception both personally and professionally, I can say firsthand that loving one another in community is the primary glue that holds this amazing group of people together.

I got to play “Wish You Were Here” among other songs at a recent Linden Lodge fundraiser, and I couldn’t help but notice several residents and staff mouthing the words. “How I wish, how I wish you were here…” There is something truly powerful as we connect in community and stand in solidarity with our loved ones who choose to live a quality life despite having a chronic brain illness. Bridge of the Sandhills is honored to stand in solidarity with Linden Lodge, and we hope you will take the time to connect with them as well.

©2016 Bridge of the Sandhills, LLC.

Leave a comment